Fees & Tuition
- Enrollment Fee for California Residents
- Tuition for Non-California Residents
- Non-Resident Tuition Exemption (AB540)
- Student Activity Fee
- Student Union Fee Information
- Fee Payment Information
- Student Debts to the College
- Parking Fees
- Student Fee Refund Policy
- Financial Aid Enrollment Fee Refunds
- Enrollment Fee Deferments
The enrollment fee for California residents (as defined in the Education Code) is $46 per unit of credit; additional $290 per unit for non-residents. The District reserves the right to adjust the enrollment fee based on changes in State legislation. Fees may be charged retroactively if a change in fees occurs.
The nonresident tuition for out-of-state residents is $290 per unit, in addition to the enrollment fee, plus $10 for a capital outlay fee, per unit. The nonresident tuition for those non U.S. citizens who cannot by law establish California residency is $290 per unit, in addition to the enrollment fee, plus $10 for a capital outlay fee, per unit. This amount may be changed by the governor/state legislature without notice. The District reserves the right to adjust the nonresident tuition fee in line with applicable law.
If you attended a California high school for three or more years and graduated from a California high school or attained a GED or Certificate of Proficiency, you may be eligible for an exemption from nonresident tuition fees. AB540 Exemption Form.
The Student Activity Fee allows the Los Medanos College Associated Students (student government) to provide scholarships, leadership opportunities, cultural programs and other co-curricular programs for the college. It also funds programs such as the textbook on reserve program that allows students to check out course textbooks for use in the library. Students may request a refund of the fee by completing the Student Activity Fee Refund Request Form before the refund deadline.
Assembly Bill (AB) 1504, approved by the Governor on October 4, 2019, amended Section 76060.5 of the Education Code to require a community college to collect a student representation fee of $2 at the time of registration. One dollar ($1) of every two-dollar ($2) fee collected shall be expended to support the Student Senate of the California Community Colleges (SSCCC), the statewide community college student organization recognized by the Board of Governors (BOG) of the California Community Colleges. The legislation is effective January 1, 2020. AB 1504 also amends prior language regarding a student’s choice to opt-out of the fee. Students must be provided an opportunity to opt out of the fee, without providing a reason at registration. This bill also eliminates the authorization of a student election to collect or terminate the additional fee. Students may request a refund of the fee by completing the Student Activity Fee Refund Request Form before the refund deadline.
Based on a student vote in a campus election, a student union fee is now being required of all students (except BOG-A Fee Waiver recipients, with Cal WORKS, TANF, general assistance, and SSI). The fee is $1.00 per unit, to a maximum of $10.00 per academic year. The enrollment fee, the new student union fee must be paid at the time of registration. The fee will contribute funding toward the eventual construction and maintenance of a student center in upcoming years.
Fees may be paid via:
- Mail a check to the Cashier's Office at the address below (write your Student ID number on your check)
- In person at the Cashier's Office, Admissions & Records Office or Brentwood Center (check, cash, VISA, MasterCard, Discover)
Fees should be paid at the time of registration. Los Medanos College does not drop for non-payment of fees. Your registration privileges will be held for the following semester if your current term fees have not been paid. Additionally, transcripts or enrollment verifications for the current term will be withheld until fees are paid.
Once you register, you must verify your fees by selecting Account Summary on the Student Account Information screen. Once you register for a course, you are responsible for the fees.
Students are expected to clear their financial debts promptly. Students who owe LMC money for tuition or enrollment fees, overdue library books, returned checks, or other debts will not be allowed to use colleges services until their debts are paid. Students who owe enrollment fees or other debts will be not be permitted to register for classes and will not receive certificates or degrees until their debts are paid. Graduation applications will be evaluated once the student has fulfilled their financial obligation.
If your debt remains unpaid, Los Medanos College may garnish your California state tax return through the state mandated Chancellor's Office Tax Offset Program (COTOP). In this instance a 33 1/3% administrative fee will be added to your delinquent balance. This balance will be forwarded for collection to the State Franchise Tax Board (FTB). In the event you are owed a state tax refund, win a California Lottery prize, or have unclaimed property to be distributed to you by the State of California Controller's Office for the upcoming tax year, California State Government Code sections 12419.2, 12419.7, 12419.10, and 12419.11 authorize the Office of the State Controller and the FTB to collect money owed to individuals and redirect these funds to pay the individual's debt owed to the agencies/colleges.
Parking permits are required during the following hours: 7:00 a.m.-11:00 p.m. (Monday-Thursday), and 7:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. on Friday. Visit our parking and transportation page for all information about parking and parking fees.
Fee refunds for students who withdraw from school or drop classes by the deadline for class add/drop will be automatically calculated at the District Information Technology Center. Refund checks for complete or partial withdrawals from school will be processed after the first two weeks of instruction. Refund checks will be mailed to the student address on file in the college Admissions Office. If you have a new address, please update your address in InSite immediately or notify the Admissions Office at the time of withdrawal or change of program. If the student paid by credit card on InSite, the refund will be processed as a credit to the credit card.
Refund checks will be issued monthly after the first two weeks of instruction each semester. All refund checks will be made payable to the student whether paid by cash, check, money order, cashier’s check or credit card. No refund of the enrollment fee will be made to any student who withdraws from classes after the first two weeks of instruction for a full semester class, or after 10% of the class time for a short-term class. A refund will not be made if the student has other outstanding debts to the college.
Students who register early for the fall or spring semester and subsequently drop all classes prior to the beginning of the semester may petition for an early refund at the Cashier's Office.
The above policy also applies to the refund of nonresident tuition fees.
If subsequent to paying enrollment fees, a student becomes eligible for financial aid and receives an enrollment fee waiver, the student will automatically be mailed a full refund check according to the same refund processing cycle as enrollment fee refunds. Students who qualify for the Board of Governors Enrollment Fee Waiver will receive a parking permit at a discounted rate each semester when the permit is purchased.
If subsequent to paying enrollment fees, a student becomes eligible for an enrollment fee deferment to an outside agency, the student should have the document stating the deferment submitted to the Cashier's Office. The student will then automatically be mailed a refund check of the deferred fees according to the same refund processing cycle as enrollment fee refunds. Details regarding the refund policy are available from the Cashier's Office or Admissions & Records Office.